Community Resources

Collection of ebooks covering history and literary criticism. Includes large a collection of slave narratives.

Business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers.

Access to primary source information, including birth and death records, ship logs, and cemetery records.

Nursing and allied health journals, education modules, care sheets, research instruments and quick lessons.

Find pro/ con essays and background information about current events.

Find background information on many subject areas. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, and videos.

Find data about U.S. companies. Identify company ownership and sales volume. Research local businesses and markets.

Historical materials from cultural heritage repositories across North Carolina.

Find scholarly ebooks on all subjects.

Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online.

Collections of media content for schools and libraries of all kinds.

Online, self-paced course for determining whether starting a business is right for you

A search interface with articles, ebooks, and videos for K-12 schools and public libraries.

Essays that provide a deeper understanding of how current issues stem from actions and policies of the past.

Explore careers and best practices for job searching, take a career interest assessment.

Find documentaries and educational videos on many subjects. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning content. Note: Public library users will view content on the Access Videos on Demand platform.

Encyclopedias and reference sources that cover a variety of topics.

Articles, critical essays, topic overviews, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.

Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras.

Information covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and actions to minimize negative impacts.

Music research from journals, books, and encyclopedias.

Genealogy research database. Includes historical census, PERSI, Revolutionary War records, and more.

Digitized historical newspaper content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers. Alternate Name: Newspapers.com North Carolina Collection.

Find primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present day.

Ebooks from North Carolina publishers and authors. Includes fiction, non fiction and poetry.

Audio and ebooks on a variety of topics. An app is available. Users will need to make a personal account to use this resource.

Ebooks and journals from renowned scholarly publishers.

Streaming videos for kids and their parents on a thoroughly kid-safe, advertisement-free media platform.

Information and links about your legal rights, the law, the courts, legal forms and more.

Test prep resources, including practice tests for GED, GRE, SAT, TEAS, and more.

Magazines and other publications covering many subject areas including business, health, education, science and culture.

Common diseases and conditions, health promotion and wellness, drugs info, medical dictionaries and more.

Includes research and independent opinions on thousands of mutual funds, stocks, and hundreds of ETFs.

Online guide to quality health and medical information and local health services throughout North Carolina.

Information about the state, its history, people, government, and educational institutions.

Employment tools for job seekers in North Carolina. Search jobs, create resumes, find education and training.

Full articles from the New York Times (1980-current).

Find book recommendations based on your favorite books. Read book reviews.

Find ebooks from libraries across the country. Create a username and password to borrow up to five books at a time.

North Carolina's premier travel, food, and culture publication, available in full text online.

Journal articles and other sources on accounting, taxes, banking, financial servces, and related topics.

Articles plus searchable charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs and tables representing all major environment topics.

Journal database covering art, architecture, design, history, philosophy, music, literature, theater, and more.

Information on business and finance topics across Asia and Europe.

Academic journals published in Australia and New Zealand.

Research on animal behavior, aquatic life, biochemistry, ecology, botany, toxicology, virology, microbiology, and more.

Company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from Hoover's Company Profiles, Research, and Snapshots.

Articles on Canadian news, politics, business, science, and more.

Over 300 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers.

Find articles from peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers on all subjects.

Articles and other sources covering computer science topics, such as artificial intelligence, cybersecurity, and more.

Magazines and journals covering sports injuries, women's health, nutrition, eye care, dentistry, and more.

Provides full-text academic journals that are published in many European countries.

Includes data on crime: its causes, impacts, legal and social implications, litigation and crime trends.

Scholarly journals, trade publications, and other sources on earth, atmosphere & aquatic science topics.

Find scholarly journal articles published in East Asian and South Asian countries.

Find scholarly journal articles published in East European and Central European countries.

Journal database covering the study of education across all levels (early childhood through higher education).

This database provides discipline-specific coverage of engineering, spanning thousands of publications, many in full-text.

Database that includes business start-up plans, video clips, journals, business cases, and more.

Find newswire content and news archives from around the world.

Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.

Research supporting professional healthcare management and healthcare administration.

Find scholarly journal articles on many subjects, all published in India.

Information and news from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers.

Find scholarly journal articles published in Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal.

Full-text literary works, along with sources such as author biographies, critical essays, reviews and interviews.

Full-text journals and other sources covering all aspects of linguistics.

Articles and records on materials science related topics.

Find scholarly journal articles published in Middle Eastern and African countries.

Articles on topics across all government and military branches.

Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.

Articles on a wide variety of topics relating to clinical and social psychology.

This database allows you to search the core literature in the field of public health.

Periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies.

Watch videos that teach you the process of writing research papers.

Science articles on topics such as global warming, energy, robotics, genetically modified food, and more.

Research covering topics in sociology, social work, anthropology, and politics.

Sociology and social work research including social structure, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.

Articles covering telecommunications topics, such as computer applications, data systems, radio and television.

Find scholarly journal articles published in Turkey.

Find scholarly journal articles published in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland.

Comprehensive resource containing citations (not full articles) to biomedical articles and life science journals.

Historical maps, detailed property and land-use records in 158 North Carolina towns and cities.

Articles, nonfiction books, activities, and websites intended for elementary and middle school students

Find pro/con essays about social issues.

Visualization and data-mapping tool with thousands of data indicators across demography, economy, crime and more.

A collection reference books, videos, and other resources covering nursing, dental, and anatomy. Provides access to Anatomy.tv, Stedmen’s Medical Dictionary, AAFP Conditions A-Z, MedCalc 3000, and more.

The site includes population, economic, and income data as well as county profiles and rankings.

The library's largest collection of statistics. Provides data on most subjects.

Learn a new language or build language skills in over 110 languages. Includes American Sign Language and English for foreign-language speakers.

News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines.

Full articles from the Wall Street Journal (1981-current).

Full articles from The Washington Post (1996-current).

A collection of both primary (cases, statutes, codes, constitutions) and secondary publications (encyclopedia, legal commentary, journals and guides) in law. Provides access to federal and state case law, the United States Code Annotated (USCA), the Code of Federal Regulations (CFRs), the Federal Register (July, 1980-present), state administrative codes and statutes, American Jurisprudence 2d (law encyclopedia), American Law Reports (ALR) & index covering 2nd-5th and federal series, and 900+ current law journals and reviews.